Corporia – new archetypes and Assets

Wow – I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post! Time really has flown by lately.

If you’re following my home renovation blog, you can see what I’ve been doing there. As for Corporia, I’ve been slowly but surely creating new rules and material for the next supplement. I didn’t expect it to take as long as it has, but there are a few things that I really wanted to include, and those are taking a surprising amount of brainpower. So if you have any suggestions feel free to let me know!

For example, and as you may have read here in August, I wanted to add nearly two dozen new pistols. Instead, I’m adding nine specialty pistols spread over three categories (light, medium, and heavy). Barring any last-minute changes, those are completely written.

In addition to the pistols and other equipment, I also plan to add some new character archetypes. One prominent one I’ve been pondering is (was?) an ‘urban druid’ type, but it’s difficult to find powers/spells to give this archetype, since the existing spell disciplines cover a great deal of what this archetype would typically be able to do. Thus, it may not even appear in the next supplement, but in some other supplement (or stand-alone) later on. The same goes for the other magical archetypes I’ve been thinking about: the ‘cleric’ and the ‘vodoun.’

Two other archetypes that are 90%+ written are the Fringer (a sort of homeless ronin) and the Moppet (a kid/preteen). Again, I’m running into problems because each archetype has its own unique or discounted (rule-based) Asset, and the core book already covers so much of the existing and potential rules that it’s been hard to find something to add. I’m not sure if the other three archetypes still in my head – the ‘senior citizen’, ‘delusional superhero’ and ‘socialite’ – will make it onto the pages. At worst, they’ll be replaced by something else.

On a related note, I noticed last week that the Corporia RPG rulebook has reachedsilver seller the silver ‘Best Seller’ status on DriveThruRPG. Considering that it only released a few month ago to a limited audience, I’m quite pleased with that!

Okay, time to sign off. Remember, if you have any suggestions for the above rules, or ideas for something I haven’t mentioned, please let me know!

One thought on “Corporia – new archetypes and Assets

Leave a Reply

