Top TV #1: In the Pale Moonlight

I thought I’d do something different this week and discuss five of my favorite television episodes – one each day.

Caveat: These aren’t necessarily my permanent Top 5, and I certainly won’t claim that these are the best tv episodes ever; they just have a special appeal to me, for one reason or another. They’re also in no particular order. Okay, with that in mind, here we go.

First up is the Star Trek: Deep Space Nine episode “In the Pale Moonlight” (season 6, episode 19). I challenge anyone to watch this one and not come away impressed, even if you don’t normally care for sci-fi or Trek.

It’s a tale of a captain desperate to shift the balance of a losing war, and the distasteful moral choices he has to confront. It’s a descent into the darkness, and the question of whether you can make the hard choices, and whether you can convince yourself that you can live with what you’ve done.

It’s an episode that often divides Trek fans, disliked by those who don’t like their idols to have feet of clay, but in my mind, that’s exactly what makes out one of the best.

And as a wise man once said, “It’s my estimation that every man ever got a statue made of him was one kind of a son of a bitch or another.”

Leave a Reply

