Two Pints of Greyhack

Oh, my poor blog. It’s been nearly a week since my last post – and slightly more than that since I started my new job. (Think there’s a connection?)

Corporia has suffered a bit, too. Since my last post, I’ve only added about a page and a half, so it’s a good thing that it’s mostly editing left.

Thus, I may need to resort to blogging with my mobile during my lunch hour – which is what I’m doing now. But anyway…

I was listening to the Roll for Initiative podcast during this morning’s drive, where they were talking about 1st edition D&D’s Greyhawk setting. That put me in mind of the unpublished “Greyhack” supplement for the HackMaster setting, and some of the hidden in-jokes I put on the map. (The names all had to be changed from the original as part of the parody publishing requirements.)

As with the “Temple of Existential Evil”, I hid British comedy references – this time based solely off of the “Two Pints of Lager and a Packet of Crisps”.

Some I remember are: turning “Geoff” into “Gaz” (both a TP character and, appropriately enough, a Brit nickname for “Gary”), “Keoland” into the kingdom of “Keogh” (another TP character’s surname) and one of the wooded forests becoming the “Nickwood” (a producer).

Those are all I remember now, without a copy of either map, but I thought you might find even that interesting.

As for me, now it’s time for pudding.

2 thoughts on “Two Pints of Greyhack

  1. hbknight

    Of the cancelled product from the HM 4e line, Greyhack has to be the most disappointing for me. I’ve always been an avid Greyhawk fan and when I heard the hacked version was in the queue for a release I was pretty pumped. It would be nice to get a peek at some of those maps or notes one of these days, but it is nice to hear little behind-the-scenes tidbits also.

    Reply
    1. plebotamus Post author

      I wish I could recall more. It’s well known that WotC wouldn’t approve the (freelancer-written) manuscript since they felt it wasn’t enough of a parody, of course. I worked mostly on getting the map and art, with brrt little editing of that product. I do know I ended up using most of the orphaned art in other products, but the map just had to languish in eternal obscurity.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

