Corporia: the Runner

Today’s character concept for the Corporia tabletop role-playing game is the Runner – a courier who specializes in transporting illegal items that the ‘Big Brother’ mega-corps don’t approve of. In my head, it’s a parkour runner with a bit of Faith from Mirror’s Edge, Eliza Dushku‘s Rubi from Wet, and Altaïr from Assassin’s Creed.

The Runner

Once I’ve finalized the gameplay rules for the Assets (a mix of powers and talents that are either ‘always active’ or ‘active depending on the situation’), this concept will mesh well with the various acrobatic-related Assets. The Assets are a bit of a late innovation, actually. Originally there were only four of them, and they were targeted specifically to the: Hacker, Knight-Errant, Spellcasters, and Everyone Else. That didn’t allow for a lot of variety, though, so I’m changing it up a bit… More on that later.

I hope you enjoy the Runner concept. As always, please feel free to comment about anything, and share the link with your gaming friends.

5 thoughts on “Corporia: the Runner

    1. plebotamus Post author

      Noah,
      Sorry, I don’t understand what you mean by the ad. I’m not seeing it on my end. I have been actually considering some pie chart graphics, mostly for the city ‘tourist guide’ chapter, though.

      Reply
      1. Noah Chinn

        Sorry I just meant the pie chart graphic from the ad I thought was some kind of stat-breakdown concept, and that all stuff listed (memory, speed, problem solving, etc.) were game stats 😉 Took me a half second to realize “oh, wait, this is an ad for something else” 😉

        If you can’t see the image, it’s just a human head profile with a pie graph breaking down different parts of brain use. I don’t know why it showed up when I first saw your blog entry, because I haven’t seen it pop up since.

  1. Heather O'Malley

    Nice. A good concept. Looks good.

    One character to remember to remember is the character from The Transporter, Frank Martin, is what happens when a Runner gets money and recognition. He gets a bit too tangled up in things and then manages to get out through running and beating people down with pure wuxia. When I saw the character idea I immediately went here and was surprised not to see him listed.

    Also, you have Friday Baldwin, from the novel Friday by Robert Heinlein. She is a combat courier who fits your profile pretty accurately as well. So yet another character for you to reference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

